Small talk

I don’t like small talk. I don’t see the point of it. Often when I meet people, there is this awkward silence between us, before one of us (usually not me because I’m too busy being silent) decides to talk about the weather. BUT WE CAN ALL SEE THAT IT’S RAINING OUTSIDE!

When I talk to people, I want to get to the point of my conversation. Sometimes, that is talking about a project other times it’s actually hearing how you’ve been doing and how your family is.

Don’t get me wrong, I love listening to people when they tell me how their life is going, the challenges they are facing and how they are overcoming them. However, I don’t talk about this with every person I know, because not everyone feels comfortable sharing that information.

I want to have meaningful conversations, and we all know we will both forget we had this conversation about the weather soon enough. But you won’t forget the meaningful conversations. For example, a good way to start a meaningful conversation would be to ask the person what they are afraid of! Or ask them if they have any regrets in their life. Or discuss ideas you both have. See where I am going, things like that. Because this way, soon enough, one of you will get inspired and will initiate some action from your part, that will hopefully contribute to this world.

But having shallow conversations like talking about the weather or a sports team that won last night will not make you move further and improve yourself.

HOWEVER (there is always a however): If you are a meteorologist or an athlete and your job, your passion, or even your hobby is to talk about the weather or sports, then go ahead! There is nothing wrong with those specific topics, only when they are used as a way to fill some silence. Let the silence be.

I know that many say small talk is there to offer a buffer zone where people can get comfortable with the person they are talking to before getting to what they actually want to talk about. They say that jumping right in and asking someone what the meaning of life is will scare them off and make them feel even less comfortable. But I guess that depends on the person. I would prefer it much more if you asked me a direct question, without having to first ask me how my weekend was even though you couldn’t care less!

I don’t know if I’m the only one that feels this way, so share your experiences! I would love to see if you have gone through the same thing!

Leave a comment